doctoral defense

doctoral defense

Doctoral defense? It sounds a ´nightmare´ for every doctoral student who faced this situation. Within a very limited time, I should prepare in finalizing the book´s revision, book printing, and presentation. I still could not imagine how I could handle this task meanwhile I was not in Graz anymore. But thanks to God, and also many people who supported me to come up with this situation.

And finally, @ 18 December 08, I flight to Graz via Vienna. My supervisor invited me actually to have a dinner together at resto in Graz in that night, but really unfortunately I could not catch the time since the flight has some delayed. I directly went to the hotel and kept my focus on tommorrow defense.

Together with Examiners

Together with Examiners

It was a time, @ 19 December 08  from 2pm- 4pm, I struggled with my life to defense in front of examiners, Univ.-Prof. Dr. G. Kubin (Insitut fur Signalverarbeitung und Sprachkommunikation, TU Graz, Austria), Dr.ir.G.Janssen (Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science, TU Delft, Netherlands), and Univ.-Prof.Dr.L.Fickert (Institute fur Elektrische Anlagen, TU Graz, Austria). And also I would never forget with the kindness and support from my Supervisor, Dr. Klaus Witrisal.

Result announcement and Small official ceremony

Result announcement and Small official ceremony

Starting with preparing all the equipment, such as Laptob, OHP..people came and sat down..(full people in the class attended for this defense, thanks to you 🙂 ) and the examiners came and gave a little speech before the defense. Then It was started, I was quite panic, but I still can manage it and tried to be calm as I can. I presented about my thesis around 15 minutes, and tried to answer some questions from examiners. Uhhh thanks God, I may answer those questions, even some I gave not quite details answers. After this session, we should came out the room and left the examiners to consider my defense. Then they called us for a result announcement…..mmmhhhh….suddently  my panic increase again…

with SPSC member

with SPSC member

FINALLY…thanks God…The examiners gave a good answer that I passed the defense and  got my doctoral degree. They also prepared for a small ceremony in the class for me. Thanks to you for all Examiners, my Supervisor, and my friends who attended and supported me during my defense.

 

After a small ceremony, I invited all Examiners and friends to have some food and drinks in the SPSC kitchen. Relax for a moment…:)

Small Party in the SPSC kitchen after the defense

Small Party in the SPSC kitchen after the defense

I should go back to Stavanger but I never forget the time when I standed up for my doctoral degree, it was..it was..really unforgettable moment..oohhh…now I can breath normally again 🙂 ..Thanks God!

